3 2 5 (1) 3

Sri Jayawardenapura Municipal Council

Sri Jayawardenapura-Kotte, is the administrative capital of Sri Lanka. It is located beyond the eastern suburbs of the commercial capital Colombo and is often called the New Capital area. The Parliament of Sri Lanka has been based here since the formal inauguration of its new building on April 29, 1982. Kotte was the capital of the ancient kingdom of Kotte from the 14th to the 16th centuries. The word Kotte is derived from the Tamil word Kottei (fortress).The Kotte Urban Development Council was created in the 1930′s, with a modern building at Rajagiriya. The Kotte Urban Council became the Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte Municipal Council in 1997, with Chandra Silva as the first Mayor.

  1. Kotte municipal Area: 17.04 km²
  2. Total area divided to 10 wards
  3. Total GN divisions 20
  4. Population 107144 (2013)